The National Museum of Korea holds a collection of approximately 150,000 works of art. The museum holds permanent collections of ancient artifacts, historical artifacts, works of art, donations, and Asia related cultural artifacts. Further, the museum also offers exhibition space to feature various cultural works, and an exhibition hall dedicated to children’s learning through exploration activities. The garden outside the museum offers an outdoor exhibition of stone pagodas and a variety of stone constructed relics from history.
Changdeokgung Palace was built during the 5th year of the reign of King Taejong (1405) as a royal villa. It was later used as royal residence when Gyeongbokgung Palace was burnt down during the Japanese invasion in 1592. Since the site of the Palace is not level, the layout of the buildings is designed in such a way that architectural forms adapt to the changing natural terrain. In particular, the back garden, along with numerous pavilions, tens of thousands of trees and flowering plants attest to the Korean design tradition that harmonizes the structure with its natural surroundings.
Seoul tower, a monument that accentuates Korea's traditional beauty, is Korea's first ever integrated signal tower for television and radio stations to broadcast to the surrounding areas. Due to the location at which it stands, Seoul Tower's observation deck is a landmark for site seers to reflect on Seoul' s 600 years of changing history, and on clear days the beach fronts of Incheon is easily viewable to North Korea's Song Ak Mountains in Gae Sung.
Korean Folk Village
The Korean Folk Village, which was opened on the 3rd October, 1974, as an open-air folk museum and international tourist attraction for both Korean and foreign visitors. It is the home of the true Korean heritage where many features of the Korean culture have been collected and preserved for succeeding generations to see and learn about. A traditional marketplace offers the exotic flavors of Korean cuisine from various regions. Shops stock a variety of traditional
handicrafts and souvenirs. “Farmers’ Music and Dance” and “Acrobatics on a Tightrope” are performed in the performing arena twice a day. In spring, autumn and on big holidays, traditional holiday customs and ceremonies of coming-of-age, marriage, and funeral and ancestor memorial are recreated.
Beopjusa Temple at Mt. Songni National Park
Beopjusa temple has a long and illustrious history dating back to the Three Kingdoms age. The monk Uishin founded it in 553 during the reign of King Chinhung (540-576). According to written records compiled in the 12th and 13th century, based on written records from earlier times, it is said that as many as 3,000 monks lived here at times. It is also relates that in the 12th century, the Goryeo king gathered thousands of monks here to pray for the recovery of the National Teacher Uichion (a high-ranking advisor to the King). Because of the large gatherings at this temple, there are several curiosities to be found in the temple courtyard. One is a stone basin that is said to have held enough water for 3,000 monks. Another is a massive iron rice pot that could serve the same number. The temple is most notable for its five-story wooden pagoda the only one left in Korea. It was originally built many centuries ago, but one of the later reconstructions burned in the Japanese invasions of 1592-98. The present pagoda dates from the time of reconstruction in 1624.
Bulguksa Temple, built with a combination of stylish architecture, Buddhist spirit and natural surroundings, symbolizes Buddha's land on earth. The stone layers harmonize perfectly with the different structures, such as the several halls and the statues of Buddha within them. Bulguksa temple was built in the 10th year of King Gyeongdeok,751 A .D. by Kim Dae-seong, in memory of his parents. It was restored to its original condition in 1973.
Seokguram Grotto was built in memory of Kim Dae-seong's parents in 751, the 10th year of King Gyeongdeok's reign, completed over a span of thirty years. Seokguram, made of rough and solid granite, has been unparalleled in history. Although not comparable in size to those found in India and China, it excels in terms of art, philosophy and scientific technique. It was designated as the UNESCO Cultural Heritage on December 6, 1995.
The temple was founded by a saint priest in 560. Then, Weonkwang Kuksa who lived the rest of his life in Kaseulkapsa and presented Kuisan and Chuhang with the five Buddhist commandments as their lifetime motto firstly renovated the temple in 608. In 943, King Taejo Wanggeon of Goryo Dynasty christened the temple Unmunseonsa and bestowed 500 Kyeol of fields in recognition of Boyang’s service. Since the Buddhist Purification Drive in 1958, an educational institute for bhiksunis was set up in the temple, which has undertaken the education of sunims and the research of the Sutras, turning out numerous sunims after renaming as a Samgha University in 1987.
Mt. Yongdu Park
The Park is situated at 1/2 Gwangbok 2-dong of Jung-gu, in Busan. This place was called Choryangsosan (Small Mountain) or Songhyeonsan (san again Meaning Mountain) because of its luxuriant pines. As the head of Yongdu Mountain Park looks like a dragon’s head, it was given it current name. This location became a Japanese government office in 1876. Today many foreign tourists and citizens who enjoy walking and relaxing while taking in magnificent views of Busan visit this place.
Jagalchi Fish Market
Jagalchi Market provides 30~50% of the dried fish and marine products in Korea. This market is the largest in Southeast Asia, dealing in 300 kinds of fishes and consisting of a joint fishery market, street stalls, restaurants specializing in sliced raw fish, movable bars and a covered carts, dried fish shops, etc. Its area reaches from the Dried Fish Market below the Yeongdo Bridge to the dawn Market in Nambumin-dong. Shin Dong-A Fish Market Marine Products Center within Jagalchi features 180 shops selling fish and shellfish on the first floor, 70 shops selling dried fish on the second floor, and 30 shops offering sliced raw fish.
Gwangbok-dong & Nampodong Fashion Street
The area of Gwangbok-no, Busan’s great fashion street, is located next to Kukje Market. Owing to the wealth of shops, all kinds of shoppers can enjoy discounts. It is known to be an essential shopping course for young mothers and women in twenties. In addition, these stores offer clothing and accessories but also jewelry, cameras, audio systems, traditional crafts and sporting goods. The streets is usually up and running from 10:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. daily.